Posted in World Explorer

A New Lens

My walks came with a new lens yesterday – well two actually. A friend, J, joined me and I brought an actual camera. Though I love my iPhone (more than I should love a thing) I have a decent camera that will help me capture even richer images.

I am so very glad that J joined me for my walk! A friend I met a while back, with whom I’ve stayed in contact via facebook, J is a film professor at a local University here in Atlanta. Her eyes brought two fun things to the walk – eyes that did not know a neighborhood that I know very well (we walked in Grant Park) and eyes that are artistically developed to see things differently than mine. As we walked it occurred to me that having folks join me regularly would be fun, then I thought how cool would it be to lead walks, maybe even with J – a film professor and a seminary grad leading walking explorations of Atlanta? Off the beaten path of the city and our minds – looking at things from new angles. I jokingly called it a creative bootcamp – a good brisk walk plus re-learning to be wide awake and see the world with the wonder of a child…hmmm……

Found a weird poster – check it out! It was another trash-day find on the corner of Sydney and Oakland in Grant Park.

Plus a very flat fork that I could not seem to leave behind.

Author:

Faithfully seeking Sophia in the world. Mother of Zoë . Daughter of Grant and Beverly . Sister of Jessica . Blogger . Director of Digital Strategy . Graduate from Candler School of Theology - M.Div.

2 thoughts on “A New Lens

  1. Your photos turned out wonderfully! What a nice, flat fork that is. Thanks for letting me tag along. I did feel wide-awake for hours afterward. 🙂

  2. Jennifer,

    I was so glad to share the walk with you. I look forward to you joining me again.

    Peace,
    K

Leave a comment